FAQ - Rule Builder
What is a Shared Rule and how is it different from a Non-Shared Rule?
A Shared Rule is a Rule that is available to any Entities (characters, monsters, etc.) on your account. A Non-Shared Rule is a Rule that is available only to a specific Entity on your account. For example, a 5e Feat should probably be created using a Shared Rule, as you will likely want to access and use that Feat again with another character. On the other hand, a Fate Aspect is an ideal use for a Non-Shared Rule as your Aspects are unique to a specific character.
Working with Shared Rules
A Shared Rule can be accessed and edited from either your Rule Builder Index page, or from any Entity that is using that Rule. Changes made from either of these places, will be reflected on all instances where the Shared Rule is used. The Additional Info field, available only when you edit a Shared Rule from an Entity, is an exception. Information in Additional Info is stored with the Entity, and visible only from that Entity.
If you want to delete a Shared Rule, you can do so only by accessing it from your Rule Builder Index page. Once deleted, the Rule is removed from your account and all Entities that were using it. This action cannot be undone, although you can recreate the Rule at a later time.
Working with Non-Shared Rules
Non-Shared Rules are stored with the associated Entity, and do not appear on your Rule Builder Index page. To access, edit, or delete a Non-Shared Rule, you must open the Entity, and then access the Rule. If you remove a Non-Shared Rule from an Entity, that Rule is removed from your account permanently. You can recreate it, but you cannot undo the action.
A Non-Shared Rule is one that is available only to the Entity upon which you created the Rule.
Creating New Rules
When you add a new Rule, or edit an existing Rule, from an Entity, you have the option of indicating the rule is a Shared Rule (as shown below). Once you indicate a Rule is shared, and save it, the Shared Rule can not later be set to non-shared. If you want to remove it, delete the Shared Rule from your Rule Builder Index page.
Rules you create from your Rule Builder Index page are automatically created as Shared Rules.